·
Registered
772 Posts
I've tried it.

it definitely works

it helped me to:

*uncover exactly what it was that I was scared of
*realise that the odds of my fears coming true were actually very slim
*realise that if my fears did come true then it would not be a catastrophy and that I would handle it
*actually prove that the chances of my fears coming true were very slim and that if they did come true it would not be a catastrophy

·
Registered
165 Posts
I've been doing it for the past 3 months, listening to audio tapes and reading the material every day and it definitely has improved me. I wouldn't go as far as saying it is a night and day change but through repetition and persistence, I'm hoping I can slowly change the way I feel, act and think.

For those who don't know, the CBT aims to do is the slowly change the way you think, feel and act. In essence, it is trying to steer your brain patterns and thoughts from thinking negatively into something that is more positive yet rational. The main topics that my CBT focuses on include the following:
  • Slow talking
  • Seeing things from a rational perspective
  • Calming down and loosening up
  • Accepting myself no matter what
  • Ignoring negative thinking and finding distrations to prevent these thoughts from occurring
  • Turning negative thoughts into something positive or neutral at first

Again, please remember that this is a very slow and steady progress. Don't expect changes to happen in weeks, let alone months. I've been doing this for 3 months and I do still experience SA symptoms but I would say through therapy, I've become much more relaxed and confident than I have in the past.

I've almost finished up my CBT program and will be doing the behavioral program soon. In this program, it aims to change the way I act, for example, dealing with eye contact, etc.

If anyone is interested, this is the website that I'm doing my CBT through:
https://socialanxietyinstitute.org/