Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

Can you drive a stick shift?

• Yes, I'm an expert at it.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • If it has a stick, I can't drive it.

• I don't drive at all, so stick or automatic doesn't matter.

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Banned
38,431 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems the vast majority of Americans (maybe 90% would be my guess) drive automatics. I learned to drive on a stick and drove nothing but sticks for 14 years. While I can expertly use a stick, I find it to be a royal pain in the butt and would never go back to a stick.

I know performance enthusiasts are big fans of sticks, but I doubt sticks really perform any better in the real world. To them a Corvette with an automatic would be an abomination. But you don't go zero to 60 too fast if you stall the engine at the starting line.

Some think sticks are so cool, and probably real macho too. After an hour in stop & go traffic the allure of the stick really starts to wear off after you shift up & down a couple hundred times.

·
Registered
71 Posts
I just learned to drive on a stick and I absolutely hate it. I don't have enough confidence for it, I keep stalling my mom's car. I get so frustrated. I just don't want to do it. I can drive both automatic and stick, but at the same time I can't, because I don't want to. I hate it. Well, the automatic I learned to drive was a mini van ... so maybe that turned me off. Then we got rid of that, my mom taught me to drive her little car, but it's a stick so there is just no way for me to win.

Mostly, I just hate cars, and I hate driving. Not only are they terrible for the environment, they are terrifying. So no thank you.