Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone else has ever dealt with this. I'm in my second year of university, and up until now, I've been an A student. I've been feeling pretty depressed on and off during my entire university experience, but I always managed to still put in the effort to study/keep up with readings, etc.

My motivation started to go downhill a little by the end of last semester but I figured that would change again after the month long Christmas break. It only got worse. It's like a switch has been flipped - I skip class, retain absolutely nothing from lectures when I do go, but worst of all, I can't study. Like I try, and it just doesn't work. It's almost as if I can't physically force myself to do it. My motivation is absolutely non-existent, and I'm afraid I might actually fail this semester. I'm thinking it's probably a side effect of depression, which these days, seems to be more my problem than actual SA. So does anyone have any tricks that they use to remotivate themselves?

·
Registered
545 Posts
Get as much sleep as possible. I've suffered from the same problem for a long time. Get rid of depression and you beat it, other than that I'm not sure. Try to keep your energy levels high by eating every 3 hours, and eat healthy as well..

·
Registered
25 Posts
It makes me so sad :( Why can't I study. My interest never really lasts.. I think its just our bodies telling us something is wrong :/

I try recording my lectures

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@IdontMind: Thanks for your suggestion, though unfortunately I don't think sleep is the problem - I get waaay too much sleep if anything.
@everyone else: I guess this is a common problem for people with depression. Here's hoping we can all pull out of it somehow.

·
♛♚♝♞♟♜♚&
6,528 Posts