Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

Yesterday I called a girl that I 'like'. A couple of weeks ago I mustered up the courage to ask for her phone number. I have never done that before in my life. I asked her out of the room, made some quick small talk then told her that I thought she was pretty and wondered if I could have her number so that I could call her sometime. She said "of course" I can have her number.

I felt good after that. I called her the following saturday but her phone was off, so I left a text message. She didn't reply to that so I assumed she was interested in me and just gave me her phone number to avoid hurting my feelings. I should note that although we are in the same college class, we aren't exactly friends. I have only spoke to her a couple times out of the whole year. When I did speak to her I was shaking like a leaf because of my anxiety and felt very stupid afterwards so I just avoided even looking in her direction.

When I saw her the following week after not responding to my text, I didn't say anything to her as I felt kind of embarrassed. I felt like a loser. I asked a friends advice, and he told me that I didn't play the game right. He let me know that I was supposed to befriend her first before rushing in like that and asking for her number. I have never tried to get with a girl before so this was all new to me.

A week later and a friend told me to call her. I told him that she is not interested in me so what would be the point? He rebuttled that until she tells me that she is not interested, I still have a chance. I just didn't want to come off as a desperate loser phoning a girl that can't even be bothered to return my texts or speak to me in real life.