Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
God damn it I always do something like this.
I purchased an electirc guitar and amp and they don't go well together or sound good and I just sort of rushed into it. I made the mistake of buying an electric guitar and trying to learn that before classical.
I had one when I was younger but had to sell it, I needed the money at the time but yeah any suggestions, I decided I want to play classical and then move to electrical. This is so annoying.

By the way ~I have an Epiphone Les Paul Studio and a Peavey vypyr 30 amp

·
Registered
3,211 Posts
You could take them back to the place you got them from, explain that they don't go well together, and ask if you could, for example, swap the amp for another one. You could also just put it down to experience and try to sell them.

·
Permanently bored
2,813 Posts
I've been playing for about 10 years and I started learning to play classical, but I got tired of it and moved to electric almost straight away. Nothing classical-specific that I learned helped me play electric any better and I improved much faster playing electric. If you actually want to play classical guitar, then by all means learn it, but if you intend to play electric guitar, learn electric guitar. I'm not sure what gear you've got, but you won't get FANTASTIC tone out of beginner stuff, and you certainly won't get good tone without good technique, which you'll pick up over time. If you're serious about learning, stick with it. Most people who learn classical first but intend to play electric regret it because it's really a waste of time.

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Nah i think I'll stick with it I want to learn electrical and classical but I'm gonna just stick with it and get good. I've got time, just gonna learn this thing through books and if @i get a classical guitar I 'd see a teacher.