Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y'all,

Just wanted to see what people have done to make their life more exciting when the lonely boredom blues hit?

I think I'm having a more difficult bout of this crap lately because I went out on a date that didn't work out with a girl I was interested in. So I'm trying to not make it a big deal, because I know it isn't. And I'm thinking that I should have more going on in my life to where it really isn't a big deal, just a small hiccup in an otherwise satisfying life.

That's when things get depressing. I look at others and everyone has had more "life experiences" than i have and it feels like my life is empty. So I'm telling myself I'm 28 and there's plenty of time to get out there and actually live. I've got an itch to go do something, but I can't think of what to do.

I started playing disc golf with some friends, but they're really good at it and I kinda stink. In fact, it seems that almost everything I do I'm below average. So I got a bicycle and started exercising. It feels good, but it's kind of a solo thing.

Other friends of mine go surfing, wakeboarding, skiing, play sports, write music, hang out at bars, make other friends, and pick up girls. A life like that sounds exciting. I've been playing guitar for about ten years and struggle to keep up with them. I have a bad knee that gives out when I try wakeboarding, surfing, etc. I never got good at sports when I was a kid. Is there such thing as "talentless"?

When it comes time to hang out, I feel like I've got nothing to add because I've done so little. The confidence drops through the floor and that ruins the girl situation.

Can counseling help this? Does anyone pull out of these ruts? I just graduated and can't find a job, so this should at least be a time in my life to really go out and adventure. But I don't seem to have what it takes to get an exciting life going.

·
Registered
32 Posts