Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be one starting next week, as I am a freshman this coming Fall semester at SUNY Oswego. I have a few quetions.

Were you amazing at high school science and math?---I was not, I was only good at bio (just got 5 on AP) and I am abysmal at math. Dropped physics on first day

Were you scared you didn't know much about bio, even as a student about to major in it?----I do, and I feel worthless

How many hours a week did you study in college?

Do you speak with your professors a lot outside of class?---Scared to do this

What do you plan on doing with a degree on biology?---As of now I would consider focusing on marine life or infectious diseases...anything microbial maybe.

Thanks

·
Registered
761 Posts
I'm not sure how much I study because I spent most of that time procrastinating with my book open, so it's very hard to judge when the work actually starts, lol. I do put a decent amount of work into it though, especially for my chem classes. (I'm a junior atm..) No need to worry about not knowing the subject well beforehand... when I was in high school I took AP/advanced everything except science a few years and math.. because I just didn't feel like it, never even liked the subject, lmao. In my Sr. year in high school I took AP biology and COMPLETELY blew it off. I took my first few years at a comm college, and have all A's.. honestly don't think it was any easier than university... I'm currently enrolled in like 15 hours at my university now, but I've only been taking 12, and the workload is pretty intense with that even...

basically.. you'll learn the intro biology stuff in biology. And for each of the other biology related courses you encounter, you'll probably start off with an intro chapter or review over basic biology. The stuff you learn in biology really builds on itself, you'll be surprised.