Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone here recommend a good beginners book for bodybuilding and nutrition? I've read that Starting Strength and Beyond Brawn are good, any suggestions? Particularly for someone in their 30's?

·
Registered
772 Posts
Can anyone here recommend a good beginners book for bodybuilding and nutrition? I've read that Starting Strength and Beyond Brawn are good, any suggestions? Particularly for someone in their 30's?
without doubt ''body for life '' by bill phillips.

so simple and straight forward. no counting calories. only workout for less than 4 hours per week. eat what ever you want one day per week

·
Registered
31 Posts
I used to compete and still train I am a certified personal trainer ..The best way to see quick gains is do basic movements like Squat,Bench,Deadlift and Military press..4 sets of 10 -12 reps and only work each body part twice a week. Eat plenty of protein and clean carbs and you will be fine..

·
Banned
768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I used to compete and still train I am a certified personal trainer ..The best way to see quick gains is do basic movements like Squat,Bench,Deadlift and Military press..4 sets of 10 -12 reps and only work each body part twice a week. Eat plenty of protein and clean carbs and you will be fine..
One concern I have is that I've had two inguinal hernia repairs in my past (last one was 7 years ago), so I'm really reluctant to do squats or deadlifts. Have you had to train anyone with this issue?

·
Registered
31 Posts
One concern I have is that I've had two inguinal hernia repairs in my past (last one was 7 years ago), so I'm really reluctant to do squats or deadlifts. Have you had to train anyone with this issue?