Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So what to say, what to say.

I'm 29. Still live at home with my parents and have been in and out of university for years (5 or 6 times at least). The usual pattern is I would start a semester looking fine then depression and anxiety would kick in somewhere mid way through and I would drop out. Maybe I'd have to give a presentation, sometimes there was no single trigger. Either way this has shredded what was once a 4.0 GPA. It doesn't help that I never really learned any proper study habits, HS was easy enough for me that I never really had to study to get strait As. I haven't been back to university in about 5 years. I've managed to hold down 2 retail jobs in the past 6 years or so, both quit due to depression/anxiety. The first was a long stint at 7-11 where I was an assistant manager and acting manager in the last year or so. This was actually a very good short period in my life. The 2nd job was in sales at NCIX, a computer retailer here. You might think that public positions like these would be bad for someone with SA but I'm good in environments where there's a clear social barrier between myself and those I'm dealing with. I completely avoid most other social environments especially if they are intimate or could get so in any way. Large groups I'm ok in, like at restaurants and the like. In between these jobs I've spent long periods cooped up in my room just short of catatonic. Basically a shut in. Had problems with alcohol off and on, though not right now. Never had a GF, never been close to a girl, still a virgin. Only good sides are that I've managed to save up about 65k during my years working those retail jobs, course living at home with my parents I've not exactly had any expense to speak of. Parents are very supportive and loving but they probably should have pushed me out long time ago, would have forced me to cope, course I would probably just becom