Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
unashamed perv
1,786 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
[Apologies if this is in the wrong forum]

Do you talk about it with your nearest and dearest? Do you contemplate your own mortality? Do you think people should be more open about it?

Until recently, I wasn't an organ donor, because I just didn't really believe that I might die young! I know that that's daft of me, but... anyway, I put my name on the register today.

This BBC article made me want to ask the question.

If, like me, you don't believe in life after death, does the thought that you will just end one day bother you? It's just not something I can really get my head around. Maybe I shouldn't try. Thoughts?

NOT looking for a discussion about suicide here.

·
Registered
984 Posts
i'm not technically an atheist anymore but I used to be so i'll try to answer. That we only get one chance to make on the world pushes you farther and there is no reason to dwell on mortality as it is probably similar to the state as before you where born.

·
Registered
2,433 Posts
Honestly I don't really care or think about it too often. I refuse to act different just because it might get me a different result in death or because there is no result. Whatever happens I will find out or not when I die and dwelling on it does not help me live. What happens after death is simply a passing though to me and then I realize nothing can be proven so I quit wondering. My views or lack of them on death are actually part of the reason I follow no religion. I'm not interested in finding an answer before I die.

·
Registered
47 Posts
i'm not technically an atheist anymore but I used to be so i'll try to answer. That we only get one chance to make on the world pushes you farther and there is no reason to dwell on mortality as it is probably similar to the state as before you where born.