Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
509 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 1st year Zoology major at college and every time someone asks me what my major is, I hesitate to tell them. This is because usually they glare at me as if I just spit on their shoe, and then respond with "that's interesting..."

If I'd said something along the lines of engineering or business, I'm sure I'd be deemed more worthy of their acceptance.

In addition to this, I sense that my family is also ashamed of my choice. In particular, my dad somewhat mocks it, I'm sure he doesn't realize I'm self conscious about it, and when he's serious, he'll insist that I go to vet school and he tells other people I'm going to go to vet school despite me never hinting that I have any intention of that since it's very difficult to get into.

Does anyone else feel like their major is taboo in some way and not acceptable to other people?

·
The Friendly Anarchist
133 Posts
Zoology actually sounds really awesome. I wish my school had that. I probably wouldn't major in it but I think it might be fun to take a few classes. Anyway, you shouldn't be ashamed of that. You could do way worse. I'm just going to stop the thought right there because I know someone is going to get pissed at me if I insult their major.

As for me, I've never been ashamed of my major. It has gotten me several enemies though. I'm an economics major, and because my school is full of idiot communists who don't have the foggiest idea of how economics works, it's not uncommon to get verbally abused or ridiculed when I tell my major.

·
Banned
6 Posts
Do you want to follow an academic career in zoology? I think that would be a great career, I've thought about it but I don't know if I can do a postgrad in it with my undergraduate degree.

·
Riding the Struggle Bus
270 Posts