Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
bipolar
17,238 Posts
I'm actually not very good at it - when I genuinely need to apologise to someone. I think it's almost like how I feel about conflict, or disagreeing with someone. I find it quite difficult.

Of course if it's something unimportant then I'll say sorry all the time - we do that here for everything. Like if someone stands on your toe on the tram we always assume it's our fault and apologise. It's a cultural thing - we're pretty much sorry all the time. :um

·
♎ Mackinac Island Fanatic
28,958 Posts
I tend to apologize too much. :/

·
Super Moderator
34,912 Posts
Ummm. No. I frequently do regret things but I'm not that good at apologizing. Not that it stops me from trying but I've pretty much given up on always apologizing for being crazy at this point.

4,063 Posts
Yes. It's easy.

It's a shame that some people cannot apologize because they can't face themselves and what they did, or just don't care though. Some people have to be a victim as well, so there mind will create false memories to protect their fragile self, because they cannot take any criticism or criticize themselves.

I'm still torn to bits because "she" has never apologized to me for what she's done. She either can't face it, her mind has created false memories where she is the victim (possible projection) and I'm the enemy, or she just doesn't care.

I'm someone who feels guilt and genuine remorse and wants to fix things, but some are the complete opposite and it's infuriating.

·
Cooked.
9,263 Posts
No, it's hard. I find myself getting into the habit of assuming the act of apologize will absolve me of whatever I did wrong and I expect a positive reaction from the person I'm apologizing to.

In reality, an apology is supposed to be recognition and ownership of a fault of yours and the person doesn't owe you forgiveness.

That being said, I don't really think I do much that I need to apologize for.