Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just wondering because i was thinking about taking a week off from benzos and use alcohol prn or in case i get withdrawl symptoms. I know they act on the brain similar but didnt know if they were cross tolerant.

·
Registered
192 Posts
Unless your prepared to be drunk all day long I don't think it's a good strategy. How about you try stopping for a several days and start taking the klonopin again if you feel withdrawal symptoms?

·
SAS Veteran
1,841 Posts
Why do you want to stop the benzo and drink alcohol? Does the benzo not work like drinking?

·
Registered
598 Posts
I am not a doctor but if you want to get off any benzo, you should talk to the doctor that prescribed them to you. There are weening strategies to get off benzo's that are pretty painless.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I dont have a big tolerance and i dont know if im even going to take a week off. It was more of just a question ( which still hasnt been answered) of are benzos cross tolerant with other CNS depressants like alcohol and opiods.

·
ThirdEyeGrind
1,284 Posts
Even though alcohol probably would ease the wd symptoms barely, I'd still think the benzo wd would be pretty much as bad as it noramally would. Even if you drink, it would probably only ease barely effects. Atleast thats what I think.

·
Registered
516 Posts
I'm interested in this too, because I like having that sense of accomplishment when I make it through a few days without a benzo, knowing that my tolerance isn't building up. It would give me some comfort to know that drinking alcohol on those days off wouldn't be making my break from benzos in vain.

·
Registered
2,403 Posts