Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was walking by myself and I saw these girls looking at me. I was so afraid at first but I wanted to go up to them to prove that I can defeat my social anxiety.

I went up to them, introduced myself. I told them I'm a freshman at college and they said they're freshmen in high school even though they look a lot older. I could tell they had no interest in me and I had no interest in them. They thought it was really strange that I was by myself on a Friday night. The whole conversation was kind of awkward and when I left they probably thought I was very weird haha.

My fear that stops me from approaching strangers (especially girls) is I'm afraid that I'll come off as an awkward and weird person. My fear came true and it wasn't that bad. Perhaps the next time I approach some other girls they'll be interested in me.

This is the first time I've ever approached complete strangers like this and to be honest nothing good came out of it, you could say that I failed miserably but I don't care I feel really good about myself that I managed to actually get the courage to go up to them.

·
Registered
76 Posts
sounds like a lot of good came from it actually :).....you realised that once your fears come true, sometimes the fear was worse than what you were fearing

·
Registered
96 Posts
Awesome. Who cares about their reaction? You had the guts to face your fear. That is all that matters.

·
Top 5 Poster
6,051 Posts
I dont think that you can fail when you take actions like these

You can only learn something new

·
Registered
130 Posts
Great job. I face the same problem, and I'm learning that the best way to overcome it is just face it head on, as hard as that may be.

·
happy :)
606 Posts
Wow i can't believe you've done it that's awesome man keep at it must be doing wonder's for your confidence

·
Foot through door
11 Posts