Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,878 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I know this is a one in a million shot but what the hey. Basically need to extract the vocals from the instrumentals in a song. Now I know acapella websites are a good source of vocal only songs but a fair amount of the songs I'm looking for are not coming up. I know the usual comparison to getting vocals out of a song is like getting eggs out of a cake once its been baked but I'm wondering if anyone knows any half decent ways of separating vocals even if there is a bit of reverb present.

I'm going to expect 0 replies ;]

·
Registered
3,878 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Have been looking into Audacity techniques. Easier to mute vocals using Audacity but not extract them. Although supposedly a couple of youtube members reckon they know how to do it but been following them online and not working so far.

Doesn't help that I'm still new to Audacity but I'm cramming my head full of a couple of music production programs right now that learning fully another music software might implode my mind.

·
Registered
292 Posts

·
Day Of The Dead
945 Posts
If you can manage to get the song and an instrumental version you can usually isolate the vocals. There was a video on youtube showing how to do it, something to do with inverting the tracks and wavelengths or something. No idea what that means, but it apparently works.

·
Banned
1,299 Posts
Awhile ago I was trying to do this. I looked on many producing forums and all over the web. In the end I wasn't able to find anything. Unless the vocals and instruments are coming out of seperate channels you're not going to be able to isolate the vocals.

·
Banned
1,299 Posts
I was trying to find the program that I used to do it awhile back which removed some of the instruments but I can't find it.

Here's an explanation on what you can do that I just found though: