Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My therapist is an L.C.S.W. Anybody have any experience with a therapist who posses this credential? If so, how did it go? Good? Bad? I'm new to therapy, only been to 4 sessions and I'm not quite sure how it works yet. I'm going for my Anxiety and O.C.D. issues. He hasn't really given me any strategies yet to combat these issues, he's more like somebody to talk to. IDK. We get along well and he's very understanding, not judgmental, etc. It's mostly just me talking the whole time and him listening, on a broad array of subjects, such as issues with my ex-girlfriend, issues with my parents, etc. We actually haven't gone too far in depth regarding my anxiety and O.C.D. issues yet, we just sort of touched the surface. Should I take the initiative and talk about these issues or wait for him to ask me? I told him a few things, such as how I have to clean certain things because I think they're contaminated, my fear of garbage cans and a few other contamination issues. Again, I just feel like he's there to listen and make small comments\advice every now and then, not really offer strategies, such as C.B.T., that I can implement. Maybe I need to see a psychiatrist for that? Maybe my view of a therapist and their objectives\goals is convoluted?

·
Banned
501 Posts
Yeah, my therapist (if I remember correctly) also has that credential as well. It sounds like your therapist is taking a non-directive approach (google Carl Rogers) which contrasts with CBT's directive approach. In contrast, my therapist uses CBT though I'm also relying on CBT workbooks that I've found on my own and I've been making a lot of improvements.