Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
582 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I find when i'm anxious or depressed i have a habit of picking at acne, blackheads or other skin imperfections. It leads to having ugly scars and blemishes all over my body that take years to fade and in some cases has led to infections. I think it might be a coping mechanism for my anxiety but it is something i'm really trying to stop along with the anxiety. Has anyone else gone through a similar experience?

·
Registered
12 Posts
I ALWAYS pick at my face or other imperfections when I'm super stressed or anxious. I've been doing it for the past five years now. It's much worse when I'm more "hormonal" *cough menstruating cough* But I never leave scars by picking so much and have never caused an infection by doing so, either.

·
Registered
91 Posts
No, but I have a terrible habit of biting the skin covering the joints on my finger which makes it red and swollen. I also bite my nails.

·
Registered
582 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It's nice to know i'm not alone when it comes to picking or irritating skin. I think the reason i get scars is because i'm stressed a lot and things don't get a proper chance to heal before they are subject to more abuse.

·
Banned
2,799 Posts
I overdo it with the cleanliness. Take showers til my hair gets dry, use those pore strips until my skin gets irritated, and so on.

·
Registered
582 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah I hate that, I take really long showers and as soon as I get out I feel like I have to take a shower again because I feel like Im still not clean. I wash my hands like every five minutes too.
I can relate to that too, i wash my hands a lot. If i'm making a sandwich for example i wash 2-3 times. Once when i take the bread out, once after opening the mayo and meat packages then again after putting everything away.

·
Registered
388 Posts