Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10,936 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm wondering if there are other graduate students on this board. I'm in my second year of PhD work (In English lit.), and I feel my social anxiety is making the universally-stressful experience of grad school all the more difficult for me to handle. But there are no fellow students in my program with whom I feel comfortable talking openly and honestly about my problems. So if there are other grad students here (in whatever field and at whatever level), I'd be very much interested in establishing some kind of support network.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hi,

I just joined this board today. Saw your posting and just wanted to say that I am in lawschool currently and have completed a Master's degree. As I'm sure you know, it's tough. I always think... it's hard enough doing this without having the stupid SA to affect evey aspect of my life.

Anyway, you're certainly not alone.

Cheers,
CLS

·
Registered
19 Posts
grad school

Hello, I am in grad school for occupational therapy currently doing an internship and my SA definitely gets in the way. I have never been officially diagnosed with SA (just general anxiety) but I am definitely having trouble getting to know people, performing in front of others, etc. I may be failing because of this anxiety and I feel like its my fault! I got through the classes ok, when I had presentations I just did them and eventually they weren't so hard anymore. (not that I like doing them or anything) But grad school definitely expects you to be social and talk with your classmates about assignments, issues, etc. I did not realize this until I was in the program. So if you would like to talk about any issues you are having-Let me know!

·
Registered
1 Posts