Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Where to begin ... well, at the moment I work in retail. Next door to my store is a convenience store where this girl works,
I'm on friendly terms with her and we have a friendly banter when she serves me.

The last few days she has visited the store I work in, the first time to purchase something and the second was to bring a
friend (there were 3 of them, her and 2 friends) in to get a job application as there's a position available. I attempted
some little conversation when her friends were there, it was hard.

I am really attracted and interested in this girl, however she's rather a confident and popular individual which what attracts
me and also intimidates me. I've never been good at reading signals from the opposite sex, meaning I think that she might
be interested but then again there's that part of me that's thinking that I might have it wrong.

Asking her out is becoming such a challenge at the moment (with both fear and anxiety), especially when the only time I
get to see her is behind a counter. I really want to ask her out to do something (coffee / walk etc.) but I don't feel it right
being done in her work place, is there any way around this ?

Also with me not being as much of a social butterfly, I'm afraid that she might be turned off by my non-confidant and
introverted personality, or am I just over-thinking the whole thing ?

Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Thanks for the response, I was going to attempt today but It just didn't feel right doing it in her work place.
As for doing it off the clock, that's just the difficult part in that we both work different shifts. I completely
agree that me pro-longing asking her isn't doing myself any favour, but you know how it is once you get it
into your head then the whole build up.