Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
The Phoenix
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I'm a typical college student, save for I'm a creative genius. (I did a puppet show for a humanities presentation and pulled off an A. That's my proof). And as any college student does, sometimes I need to drop by a convenience store to load up on top ramen and mountain dew, and other various junk food probably not good for my health.

Recently I started noticing that a large portion of the time I go to buy something, and even go into a freaking ELEVATOR, I typically get smiles from the opposite sex (and this happens when I'm the only one in the elevator other than them). I don't just mean like they come in smiling, I mean they see me and start smiling...Do I have some sort of natural appeal I'm not taking advantage of here? Or am I looking too deeply into this, and/or just simply surrounded by naturally happy women???

I is so confoozed...:sus

·
Retired Enforcer
19,112 Posts
From what I can see in your avatar you look to be quite cute. Probably not what you want to hear from a middle aged gay guy but it's the truth.

We look at ourselves in the mirror every day and we see all the little flaws. The problem is that we are to close to ourselves. We become our own worst critics.

·
SAS Member
31,286 Posts
I don't think it hurts to think that they are smiling because of your attractiveness. This can boost your self esteem up, but try not to get over confident.

·
Registered
1,126 Posts
This is normal for living in a dorm. Dormiquette calls for smiling/nodding when you pass one person in the hallways, or get into an elevator, and you should extend this courtesy to both dudes and chicks. (Compare to this around campus, when people do not go around grinning at you).
The alternative is to avoid their gaze, and stare at the ground awkwardly while you pretend they don't exist, which will give you a bad reputation on the floor.

·
Registered
157 Posts