Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
660 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live with four other people who happen to be two couples, which is awkward enough, and they don't know the details of my life. I told them I am a student, but I am not right now, and I don't have a job. It's really frustrating that I have not been able to make myself even apply to jobs for the past few months, but I have begun to do that today.

Anyway, I basically spend all my time in my room sleeping or on my computer. My housemates are all out of the house most weekdays, and when they come home in the afternoon I try not to come out of my room at all. I usually wait until everyone has gone to bed to leave and get food or to pee or whatever.

It's super awkward for me and I have become really paranoid and anxious and I think they are judging me. I don't want to say anything to them. I know the truth of it all would make me sound like a real loser. It's hard being so different from them. I struggle to do the simplest of things in life and I'm sure they can't relate to my struggle.

Right now I am hiding in my room. I wanted to do my laundry, but a few of them came home early and are now watching a movie in the living room. They will definitely notice if I come out my room! I am so afraid of them judging me for being at home and not at work or school or whatever. How can I face my fear and resist the urge to hide all the time from the people I live with?? :afr

·
Author
242 Posts
Have you tried maybe try to explain to them your situation? I can't really help because I've not been there. And I know how difficult it is to approach people. Sometimes I feel that way. I live with both my parents and I'm always in my room. I worry they may think I'm lazy (I know they don't) but my anxiety gets the best of me.

·
Registered
660 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·