Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Morning everyone,

Two months ago I got invited to an old school friend's wedding. I've never been to a wedding so I was pretty excited and immediatly said I'd go. I've been regretting my decision on and off for the past two months. I'm going alone and I don't know anyone. I am freaking out.

The wedding is this weekend. On Saturday I told my mom I was not going. I'd send the couple a nice gift and that was that. On Sunday my friend wrote to me to tell me how excited she was that I was going to be with her on her special day and invited me to a pre-wedding party that will take place on Friday. How could I say no?

Now, I'm freaking out again because be it Friday or Saturday I'm worrying myself sick with a thousand worst-case scenarios (I won't know anyone, people will think I'm underdressed/overdressed, they'll be staring at me, etc, etc). Any advice on how to brave through this and avoid sitting myself in a corner without talking to anyone (which is what I usually do when I'm highly stessed, but then I go home and regret having done that- sigh)?

Thanks!

·
Banned
8,934 Posts
One word...booze. Not, stumble into the wedding cake and throw up during a drunken toast to the couple level of drunk, but buzzed enough to take the edge of reality down a notch.

You won't be the only one there under the same circumstances, likely.

·
Always Trying To Improve
100 Posts
I work as a wedding dj and every weekend I see the nights evolve from a sober point of view.