Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. My name is Noldi. Here's my story.

So, I'm a freshman in high school now and I started to have SA around 8th grade in middle school. I'm still searching for the exact event that might have triggered it because maybe there might be a way to reverse it? My first few signs were of SA from what I remember was that I became increasingly self-aware. Today I believe i'm hyper-aware about myself every social moment of the day. What happened in middle school was that I seemingly started to forget about what is the natural way to act, talk, make eye contact (etc) around other people in social situations. By other people I mean classmates and teachers. I became more quiet and generally more self-aware. I would think before I would do or say something a little more than average. Then middle school ended and high school started. I don't know why but my SA levels increased a lot. Even during the summer, I would go out and get a book from the library that I needed to read for the high school I was going to go to (summer reading) and I would immediately start sweating as soon as I left the door out of my apartment and went to the library. I became so nervous and I would think am I being normal? Why am I thinking like this? Stop sweating. Why are you sweating, you're just going to the library? It's something normal people do and feel "natural" about it. Today, my symptoms in high school are worse. Since I live in New York City, I have to commute to get to school. While going on the train ride to school in the morning I'm EXTREMELY self-aware. I would step into the train and I would immediately think about where should I be looking at while I'm waiting to go to my destination to look "natural"? Should I stare at the ground? Should I occasionally move my head around taking in the sights? Should I look at other people? Should I look at ads? This problem is killing me everyday