Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in my second year of college. The first semester of college was pretty rough. I didn't really have any friends. But then in the 2nd semester I made 2-3 friends just by talking to them one on one in class (I usually don't have any anxiety when I talk to somebody one on one, it is just when I am with a group of people or I feel like I am being watched.) So now here in my first semester of my second year I get invited to a college party for the first time. If I got invited to something like this a couple of years ago, it would be an instant NO. But today, I am giving effort to improve my shy introverted self. It is not for sure that I will go, but I feel like I should go. I feel like if I don't improve myself starting now, I will miss out on many great opportunities, like meeting that special someone.

The party is going to have a lot of people in kind of a small apartment. This makes me nervous. The previous social gatherings I have been to has been hell for me. I feel extremely awkward a lot, usually by myself. It feels totally impossible to just join in a group conversation. I know I shouldn't but I really care what people think about me.

Like I said earlier, I really don't want to go, but I feel I should. What can I expect? What are some tips to help me get through this feeling good about myself and maybe even enjoy it?

·
not evn sposed to be here
122 Posts
I have a list of interesting/funny stories on my computer that I can tell to people (I haven't written the whole thing; just listed the titles really). It's good to have stuff to talk about like that, that way if the subject ever comes up you get an opertunity to talk for a while and fit in more.

1 story involves my major,
1 involves a halloween
1 involves my favorite professor at my college
1 involves the first time I got sick drinking

stuff like that is pretty likely to come up.