Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone else feel like they make a lot of acquaintances, but not very many friends in school? I feel like that's me right now. I might go to dinner with someone once or twice, but it seems like eventually they just forget about me even when I try to keep in touch with them afterwards. It's very frustrating. Granted, I'm only in my first year of college, so I have some time to make friends. It's just that I never have much luck.

·
The Worst
1,664 Posts
Yup. Tell me about it. I say hi to lots of people in the hallways but none of them are my friends. I would never see them outside of school and I know once I graduate I will never see them again

I hate to be cynical about it, but I believe it happens because by this age, normal people already have strong friendships from their childhood/teenage years. Everyone I've spoken to--without exception--mentions their "best friend" or "friends from home" in conversation. They already have all the social connections they'll need; unless someone is unusually charming it's hard to break past the "I already have close friends" barrier.

The few friendships I've managed to make are never deep. I'm always the last resort friend--I always have to initiate contact, and they never see me outside of class unless all their other, closer friends are busy. I put so much into my friendships but I feel like I never get anything out of it because our friendship just doesn't mean as much to the other person. :/ It's the worst feeling...

It's been this way my entire life, not just in college. So, I really don't know how to make it better. Maybe try to find some quiet/shy people to make friends with? It's difficult because there's awkwardness on both sides, but if you work through it there's a better chance of them not having a strong social circle already. They way they'll (ideally) be more open to forming a real friendship with you.