Social Anxiety Support Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.
I am new to this and have never had therapy or anything for this. I 'm pretty sure I have a SA disorder by taking a few online tests. I've been really avoidant of social situations my whole life starting in childhood. For example, working in a typical office setting, I just hate getting in situations where people want to have a conversation. I guess I feel people are judging me all the time. I think I hide the problem pretty well, but am just tired of not being comfortable. Is this feeling typical? I would appreciate any advice as far as what types of therapy I should take etc... or comments of people who can relate or advice on how to deal with SA.
Have a good weekend everyone.

·
Banned
1,376 Posts
ask at a library for books about overcoming shyness or social anxiety

re therapists they are usually expensive and some just sit there and say almost nothing and give no useful advice

·
Banned
139 Posts
Hi everyone.
I am new to this and have never had therapy or anything for this. I 'm pretty sure I have a SA disorder by taking a few online tests. I've been really avoidant of social situations my whole life starting in childhood. For example, working in a typical office setting, I just hate getting in situations where people want to have a conversation. I guess I feel people are judging me all the time. I think I hide the problem pretty well, but am just tired of not being comfortable. Is this feeling typical? I would appreciate any advice as far as what types of therapy I should take etc... or comments of people who can relate or advice on how to deal with SA.
Have a good weekend everyone.
Hi,

I think it's difficult to analyze your anxiety problem with so little information. You should probably talk to a professional because they have the expertise.

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy ( CBT ) seems to be the therapy of choice for treating SA.