Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, this is going to be pretty lengthy as I feel its necessary to give some back story in order to make my situation understandable. As of right now, I am in my third year at university, I always stupidly set goals for myself (the goals aren't stupid, but trying to accomplish them seems stupid) at major milestones to try and force myself out of my shell. For example, I'll say to myself "once I start university I'm going to break out of my shell and be a new person", then "...in my second year I'll do that", and here I am in my third year saying the same thing, it never works though.

Fortunately for me though, I wasn't completely in the dark. The roommates I was thrown in with for years one and two were really quite a good group. They were different both years, but each of them seemed intent on helping me progress socially. I made great strides, but I can't help but think they were only temporary. They would invite me to party and drink with them where I met a lot of people but I don't really know what to make of it. I still keep in generally active contact with them but I want to be able to be socially active without relying on them to give me the opportunities.