Social Anxiety Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Background: I just resigned my position today, and am at the start of the two week lame duck period. I quit because I've accepted an opportunity provided by another company.

DrDoc said:
1) How did you find out about the position? Did you have to do cold calls at all in your job search?
Current: I sorta made it. I worked as a student worker for a while, they liked my work, and hired me to keep at it when i graduated.
Upcoming: One of my industry contacts apparently gave me a glowing reccomendation, so I was contacted directly.

DrDoc said:
2) How did you apply for the position?
Current: For the original student worker part of it, I visited the HR people and offered my services. I can't remember too well, that was 6 years ago. It evolved into my current job.
Upcoming: I didn't really apply, they asked me to come visit and they basically interviewed me right there.

DrDoc said:
3) What was the interview process like?
Current: I was interviewed by one of the academic department directors, it was pretty informal, but I was experiencing major anxiety. I did get the job though.
Upcoming: My first interview was with the president of the division. We chatted lots, I demonstrated my abilities, and he gave me a tour of the place. He suggested that I meet another person there to find the best fit. The second interview was the same as the first, minus the tour. He sent me to another company in the organization. That was a 2 on 1 interview, but was otherwise the same, minus both the tour and the ability demo (which I thought was weird). I had no anxiety for any of these interviews because I already had a job I liked and wasn't really that concerned if I didn't get the job :)

DrDoc said:
4) How many resumes/interviews did you have to go through before you finally found a job
Current: 1 interview, zero resumes.