What really happened to me? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-06-2017, 02:06 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

My Mood: Lonely
Red face

What really happened to me?

I haven't made many posts here so I don't think anyone remembers me. I'm a lawyer, 37 years male, suffering for panic attacks, anxiety and depression most of my professional life. It was severe when I used to face the Judges (I know, some choice of profession I made!). Also been drinking a lot these past 10 years or so, though I have cut down drastically now, from daily to maybe once a week. While I'm almost fine outside Courtroom, I actually, physically tremble inside a Courtroom and my voice goes completely squeaky. My hands shake when I face the Judges inside Courtroom. I kept dragging along life all these years somehow with propanolol and swallowing the humiliation of panic attacks for a decade.

Now for the triumph part. I don't know if I can call it triumph really, because I don't understand what happened. On the 4th this month, I got into an unavoidable situation in a Courtroom drama where I ended up cross examining an opposition Witness. It was unplanned. The lead Counsel was supposed to conduct the cross examination but he couldn't make it and I got into a situation where I was forced into leading the case.

I'm really bewildered how I came out so well out of it. I can't believe myself. No squeaks. No trembling. My voice was bold, authoritative and forceful. I even ended up arguing with the Judge who tried to interrupt the cross examination by me. I've never experienced being sooooooo authoritative, cool and calm ever (maybe once or twice before, some years ago but then, I was on benzodiazepines SOS, not anymore).

I don't know what got inside me. I haven't had any medication other than the usual propanolol for the past one year. I wish I could somehow find out what happened so I could replicate it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement