Today I connected with a homeless man - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-05-2015, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
#SaveTheOA

Today I connected with a homeless man

I was leaving my college and walking to the bus, a different way than I have used to go before, and this homeless man I have seen before asked me for dollars, I told him I only have my card. I started walking then I remembered seeing him and then I turned back and told him I can buy him a subway and water.

It's amazing how the medication I am currently taking zoloft 50 mg, lets me connect and trust people, even this poor man. I was so sweet to him, like I was a social worker or a volunteer. I talked with him, even though he didn't speak english very well, I understood and also asked what he had said to clarify. He told me about his life and why he is homeless. I told him he deserves to have a house and live like everyone else. I told him to try to get out of this bad situation of being homeless.

Then I asked if he wanted to come in subway to get his sandwich, he said no that he will wait outside. So then I went and got him a foot-long, and 2 water bottles, it was fun, I couldn't do this without medication, the thought of going in a subway and ordering a footlong and telling those guys what I want on my sandwich suffocated me.

So then I came out and handed him the sandwich and water and then he took my hand and prayed with me, he said, I will take Alexandra's help and get help to get out of my bad situation. It was such a nice feeling to be holding this poor man's hands and sit down on the concrete in front of subway and pray with him. Lasted for 4 minutes I would say. While those rich people passed by and stared at me in disgust, and wonder, awe, thinking wow what a nice beautiful girl helping this ugly poor homeless man.