Finding a new JOB! (Waitress?) - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-29-2011, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Finding a new JOB! (Waitress?)

I have been working at the same store for several years now, and I hate it. It was my first job and the only reason I choose to work there is because I was comfortable and that's also the reason I have stayed there for as long as I have. My new boss (for about a year now) doesn't like me, he is extremely obese and I think this has made him insecure and hateful towards woman. He clearly thinks I'm attractive and often makes rude demeaning "jokes" i.e. "You should go sit in the cafeteria of a hospital and find you a doctor to marry!" he also refers to me as "that girl" and when he does say my name he doesn't pronounce it right. This would be understandable if he had a lot of people to manage but its just me and 2 other people in our department. It wasn't until I got my evaluation a couple weeks ago (the only thing he gave me a good mark on was, appearance) that I realized that.... I'm better then this. It just clicked, that, I deserve better and I CAN DO BETTER! If not, well then, I can do worse at a job I actually like. It inspired me to find a new job. Obviously having SA that is no easy task. But for the first time in a long time I feel determined. I have always wanted to try my hand at waitressing, I think it will help me break out of the shell Im in. When I am comfortable in my environment I can talk to just about anyone. Just about. I am a people pleaser, so I often go out of my way to help someone simply cause I think they will hate me if I don't. I also like to talk, a lot.These are all good traits to be a waitress, but its getting the job and learning the job (and all the people!!) that is the terrifying part for me. I went to return my application today at a steakhouse and talked with a manager. I had a mini interview and she told me "if they're interested" she would call me back for a second inte