St. John's Wort - Page 3 - Social Anxiety Forum

post #41 of 231 (permalink) Old 11-30-2010, 06:21 PM
The Power Of Nature

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruisin View Post
it's probably just a placebo effect. i took st johns wort as lot when i was young (8 to 13) and it didn't do anything. i've taken it again a few years ago and it didn't change anything either.
Only a couple brands of St johns worth are potent antidepressants (kira, perica and a couple others).

Disclaimer: I am not a professional, all my advice is based on my own research and experiences.

"A lie told often enough becomes the truth."
-Lenin

Loving my girl.

Anyone is free to PM me questions or ask my MSN adress.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #42 of 231 (permalink) Old 01-25-2011, 11:36 AM
SAS Member

I don't know if it's placebo or not. There have been some studies done that give evidence that St. Johns Wort actually does work. I think it's one of those things that just effects different people in different ways.

What it has done for me is to give me the ability to feel again (or so it seems, anyway). For a long time I felt like everything was devoid of emotion except for anxiety and sadness, and there was no motivation to do anything. St. Johns Wort almost feels like an emotional lubricant, and gets the wheels turning again.

That having been said, it hasn't done a whole lot for my anxiety.
post #43 of 231 (permalink) Old 01-26-2011, 02:04 PM
Hello there

How long have you been taking it?

post #44 of 231 (permalink) Old 01-30-2011, 04:10 PM
SAS Member