Study on Social anxiety social incompetence and working memory, feedback welcome! - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 05:06 AM Thread Starter

Study on Social anxiety social incompetence and working memory, feedback welcome!

Hi, im a 3rd year undergrad looking to set up a study on Social anxiety,
I count myself in as one with has social anxiety. anyhow based on my own experiences i would like to explore the notion that those with S.A percieved by themselves or others as social incompetent\awkward do not inherently lack social awareness, but as a result of their condition display externally those behaviours assosiated with social incompetance.

Using the the Clark and Wells model. I would like to investigate the
process whereby when in a social situation those with s.a percieve threat , as a result regulating behaviours take place - in particular exssesive self monitoring - that is an internal shift of attention to ones own behaviour, actions , and the percieved judgement of others.
This then limits the the space for working memory to deal with social processing, and thus we fail to remember names, respond fluently, ect ect.

have a few ideas how i might go about this but any thoughts, comments , ideas very much appreciated. thankyou.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-27-2010, 03:18 PM
awake at midnight

The theory sounds good. I have good memory and am fluent in thoughts and speaking when I am not around people or recording my voice. If I try to, say read a poem I've written to record it, I begin fail. When I was in guitar class, I always failed when playing in front of the class. I notice these are very psychological, for example, if try to record my guitar playing, I can feel the slight tension, the slight loss of fluency, in the rhythm I was just playing. As soon as the recorder is running I'm less fluent and can hear a subtle change in the playing.