my CBT experiences - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-27-2006, 03:34 PM Thread Starter

my CBT experiences

hi everyone,

im new on these forums, so go easy on me Thought I would share my knowledge of cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) as an ice breaker.
Ive had social anxiety for as long as I can remember (Im 30 now). After telling myslef a zillion times over the course of many years, I finally sought help a few years ago when social phobia claimed my second job.
I have been attending a CBT group on and off for a couple of years now, but please dont consider me an expert or an authority on it, this is just what I take from it.
I have been taught that we all have 'core beliefs'. Core beleifs are ones which are embedded inside us and that we never question. Unfortunatly, some of these beliefs are damaging. One of my core beliefs is that if I go into a shop then I will be anxious, will sweat profusely, will loose the power of speech etc etc. CBT has taught me to try and change my thinking to something like: if I go into a shop then I might be anxious, might sweat profusely, might loose the power of speech, but I may not, and even if I do, then it is not the end of the world, rather it is just a part of me and that I should accept it as a part of me.

Sounds easy huh? Course it isn't