Is therapy a ripoff? - Page 2 - Social Anxiety Forum

post #21 of 39 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 04:47 PM
SAS Member

My Mood: Inspired
It depends on the therapist and the price. Therapy itself is one of the most effective, research-supported methods of mental health treatment, so it's certainly a good method.

<3
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #22 of 39 (permalink) Old 07-27-2019, 02:20 PM
SAS Member

My Mood: Blah
I must have spent thousands in money and hundreds of hours with various therapies and even got into the fringes of some cultish-type groups over the years, so I have some experience.
I would say some therapies are useful at times and some are useless or even dangerous! Some therapists can be subtly abusive and downright manipulative!

There was an online question guide a few years back to consult, ah found it:

50 Warning Signs of Questionable Therapy and Counseling

In no particular order, it is a red flag if you find your:

1. Counselor does not have sufficient and specific training to address your issues and/or attempts to treat problems outside the scope of the practice.
2. Therapist is not interested in the changes you want to make and your goals for therapy.
3. Counselor cannot or does not clearly define how he or she can help you to solve whatever issue or concern has brought you to therapy.
4. Therapist provides no explanation of how you will know when your therapy is complete.
5. Counselor does not seek consultation with other therapists.
6. Therapist makes guarantees and/or promises.
7. Therapist has unresolved complaints filed with their licensing board.
8. Therapist does not provide you with information about your rights as a client, confidentiality, office policies, and fees so you can fairly consent to your treatment. Note: The information provided to new clients by therapists differs by state and licensure requirements.
9. Counselor is judgmental or critical of your behavior, lifestyle, or problems.