Toddler advice needed. - Page 2 - Social Anxiety Forum

post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-13-2006, 03:31 PM

I had to edit, too, because I felt so bad for making you feel bad.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-13-2006, 03:45 PM Thread Starter
Bon
Walking in the light

This is the subject at hand;-)))) This could be the "Kid" picture posting section;-))) She's developing my style;-))

Mental illness is what some have, not who they are.
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-13-2006, 04:17 PM
SAS Member

Awww, she is so adorable!

post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-13-2006, 05:11 PM
You can do this!

My Mood: Cheerful
Oh goodness! That little cutie is less than perfect - nuh-uh I don't believe you! ;-)

I am no expert, but make sure you have clear, consistent consequences for misbehaving. Be sure she knows what those are too. Don't threaten the consequence, just remind her of the rules. Then if/when she does decides to continue misbehaving, not picking up her things or whatever, *immediately* follow with that consequence no questions asked. I ignore protestations to the contrary too. Since everyone is different I'm not sure what she would respond to but it's common to withhold a reward of some kind (like an afternoon popsicle this time of year) or have a time out. You know the drill. Sorry if that's all trite, just is what I thought of.

My favorite student is still a 3rd grader I worked with who had severe ADHD and emotional issues. He was such a sweet kid, really, but couldn't regulate his emotions or his focus very well. Sort of a tangent, I guess. Oh well I really like kids, I am always so surprised how charming they can be when they don't have snot running down their nose.

Medication-related posts are for brainstorming purposes only. Talk to your doctor.

My meds: Parnate, Lamictal, Wellbutrin, trazodone
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-13-2006, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Bon
Walking in the light