Stuck in a Loop - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 01:39 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Lightbulb

Stuck in a Loop

I am a freshman in college, I go to the local community college where it seems no one is interested in meeting new people. I still have loosely related friends from high school that also go to local colleges, but they seem to have found new friend groups while I still wait for my original high school squad to come back from uni. I have one good friend that I have never really liked but he also enjoys the same hobbies as me, (ie car meets, and working on cars) but the more I get to know him the more I start to resent who he is as a person. He is a very social person and is constantly meeting new people, so I stick close to him because he can do all the talking while I can go out and experience things without being by myself. I have major issues with putting myself out there despite desperately wanting to on many occasions. I enjoy being around people, but I can never bring myself to interacting with them because I have a fear of being ostracized when I act like myself. I've always had these issues but I had my group of friends to rely on throughout middle school and high school. However, I can not rely on these people anymore because they are gone to universities. I have never really had to be social towards new people until now, and it feels like an uphill climb that just gets steeper and steeper. I am very emotionally unattached to people, even my family. I'm not your stereotypical socially detached person either, I'm athletic, confident sometimes, I am a natural born leader especially at work, but it seems like my social anxieties is the only thing holding me back from being happy. It feels like I am stuck in this loop of trying to break out of my depression and anxiety-ridden life, breaking free of it, and then falling right back into the pit. It all seems so mundane and I struggle to see a reason to all of it. There was