People seem like automatons these days - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 53 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 07:50 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

People seem like automatons these days

Whenever I do actually take the effort to socialize, or even when i worked in customer service full-time, i realized that the average person is truly on a lower level of consciousness and lacks critical thought. They don't actually listen to me and it seems like they are deaf or missing something. They listen to you to reply, not to actually think. Perhaps they reflect later on..

Like they spit out the first thing that is on their mind most of the time without really analyzing what I said since it doesn't suit their ego or w.e or they're just lazy. My out-of-school counsellor/ therapist at one point even said "why do you take so long to answer questions?" like it was a bad thing... They respond out of emotion like a squirrel would react to seeing a peanut on the ground and proceed to resort to straw-man arguments
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 53 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 07:54 AM
SAS Member

That is because basically everyone is a narcissist now.
post #3 of 53 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 07:57 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnynihilist View Post
That is because basically everyone is a narcissist now.
I actually quit retail because i was seriously depressed about how the general public could be so, ya know (even my coworkers) . Yes so true and all the gossiping made me sick to my stomach. You'd think that after being treated like scum all day by customers there would be some camaraderie behind the scenes. I remember 2 girls (coworkers) making fun of my friend's boyfriend looks behind her back and I felt sick being in their presence as they tried to include me in it. All i said was "well his hair is pretty rad" and they started laughing like they thought i was joking.