I second guessed myself and made a terrible decision? Trying to cope with my guilt - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 05-28-2019, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

I second guessed myself and made a terrible decision? Trying to cope with my guilt

For as long as I could remember, I have been second guessing myself. I really do It a lot in pressure situations. I could do something absolutely right and still second guess my actions.

Couple months ago I took a certification exam which I really valued. I studied for over a year on and off while working full time and going to grad school. I lost myself, I was so depressed and just always down but I never let my friends or family see it. The day came of the exam and I didn’t really know how to feel about it. I ended up passing the exam on the first try! The thing that gets me is how I lost my character on 2 questions, I risked my career for 2 questions that I knew but I panicked. I wrote out the equations and converted my numbers but I wasn’t getting the answer that I knew I should get. A feeling that I’ve never felt before came over me. I felt so uncomfortable, I got up went to the bathroom and checked my phone to see what I was doing wrong. So many emotion ran through my mind at that point, fear of failing, frustration of my job, bills, paying of my student loans. I built this certification up into this mythical being that I thought would solve my problems and it hasn’t, how dumb of me. I was on the right track I was just psyching myself out as usual. It was 200 questions and I panicked on 2 questions!! I hate myself for it every day, I literally left my phone in the car on purpose. The only reason why I went back for it was because i had my wallet and my phone in my car and I didn’t want anyone to break in my car and take them. Given that I had the phone, I was just waiting until my name was called for my test, so I was just looking up some last minute terms in the waiting room as well. Wish I just