I feel like a child trapped in an adults body - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 115 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 12:07 AM Thread Starter
Crazy Artist

I feel like a child trapped in an adults body

Hi this is my first time venting this or even really telling anyone about it. I guess I should start from the beginning. I am 24 years old and I feel emotionally like a 10 year old. I come from a pretty science medical driven family so when I was 17 still playing with my toys,that I got when I was 10, and asking from toys for my 16th birthday my family did not know what to do. Furthmore I look young for my age, maybe people at me to 16. I am also sort of short, almost 5'3", and I like to talk in a little girls voice.

I have never had a real friend and was bullied pretty bad from PreK-college. I have no idea how to even flirt. Everything feels foreign and confusing to me since emotionally I don't understand even the most simplistic social cues. I have been diagnosed with social anxiety but I seriously feel there is more to it.

I gravitate to children because I relate to them. I spend three hours a day tutoring this little kids that range from ages 5-11 and I adore my time with them. They may see me as a teacher but I see them as a way to let me be a child safely without anyone judging me.

Honestly, I don't know what to do. I feel so alone and trapped and fear I will end up alone. I guess, what I want to know does anyone else feel this way?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 115 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 12:37 AM
SAS Member

You're not alone, trust me on this.

www.facebook.com/mardy423
Xbox Live GT- ChrisHaloBoss
Skype - Mardy423
post #3 of 115 (permalink) Old 01-09-2013, 12:40 AM Thread Starter
Crazy Artist

Really? I can't tell you what that means to hear that. I am honestly in tears. Everyday is so hard, since I am trying to hide this from people. It is making me so tired that I can hardly wake up in the morning.