I cannot make big life decisions ...i don't know what to do. - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 12-20-2019, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

I cannot make big life decisions ...i don't know what to do.

From since I've entered Medical school...my dream was to be a paediatrician.
When I graduated...my Dad kept telling me to look at the Marketplace...b4 I specialize..he keeps saying
"most people take their children to General practitioneers...do something surgical instead...surgery is where the real money is"

The thing is...sigh...whilst I "can" operate....let's just say anxiety and surgery don't exactly mesh well...and it's very frustrating when you feel nervous in the operating room...everyone expects you to be perfectly confident as you are cutting..because you are "the doctor"

At heart I am more of a clinician than a surgeon. But my Dad keeps grilling into me that surgeons are the one's who make money, so I should be a surgeon.

Maybe I could just push past my anxiety and study a surgical field ?...but why choose a career where I will be constantly stressing out and fighting back panic every time I'm about to enter theatre.

Paediatrics is what I really enjoy but people keep saying that it's a
"woman's" speciality and I should study something more manly like cardiology urology or surgery.

Now...the next problem is....for the 2nd year in a row, there are paediatrics scholarships up for grabs...last year I ignored it out of fear and a friend of mine got it...this year the exact same scholarship is being offered again.

Do I
1 ) Choose the field I love and accept that I may be struggling to make ends meet
2) Wait until one of the "prestigious" scholarships opens up, choose a speciality that I don't like, but that has greater earning potential.