Cried at work today - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-01-2015, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
Aly
Social outcast

Cried at work today

I recently started my first ever job 2 days ago. I work at a bagel place. Everything was going okay until 5 mins before my shift was over. A lady came in with her friend and asked for a sandwich. She had an attitude with me from the start. I'm still learning. I cut the bagel too thin and she started to make fun of it and got an attitude, saying that "her friend isn't going to like that". So i threw it out and started over. I politely told her "I'm sorry about that ma'am" and she didn't say anything and looked away. I was doing well until I accidentally put bacon on the sandwich. She then got an attitude again and was like "are you not making me what I want??" This was where I got pissed. I didn't say anything to her. I told my coworkers "you know what, you take care of her" then threw the sandwich down. I understand, I made a couple of mistakes. I just started my first ever job. She could have politely asked me to take the bacon off and she could have talked to me with respect, but she didn't. Everyone else I dealt with was nice except her. I understand that people are gonna be rude but this caught me off guard. I am a very sensitive person. That's just how I am. My anxiety kicked in. I felt really stupid, embarrassed, and like a failure. I started to uncontrollably cry. I couldn't help it. I know people saw. I'm afraid to go back tomorrow.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-01-2015, 05:23 PM
SAS Member

Cried at work today