being called 'stupid' - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-28-2012, 04:22 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

being called 'stupid'

So this is going to be part venting, part opening up a discussion.
Basically one of my biggest fears ever since I was little was the thought of people calling me dumb. The irony is that this happens to me quite frequently and the more it happens, the more I break down.
I'm in my final year of college at the moment, and although I have always struggled with my courses, I pulled through in the end. I have some supportive parents who argue that my achievements thus far is evidence enough that I am not stupid. And yet I've been treated as though I am dumb for sometimes (I feel) the smallest reasons, and sometimes not so small reasons.

I had thought about giving out some examples, but I'll only do so if people ask. One thing I can say that occurs a lot, is that sometimes I don't know who certain well known people are, that others consider is important to know. They seem so very shocked when I answer truthfully 'I'm sorry, I don't know' and immediately look at me like I'm the plague. I think that people have a right to their opinion, but it's so mean when they react with 'You can be so stupid sometimes' or 'Everyone seems to know this but YOU.'