Social Anxiety Forum

Social Anxiety Forum (https://www.socialanxietysupport.com/forum/)
-   Frustration (https://www.socialanxietysupport.com/forum/f35/)
-   -   Always daydreaming! (https://www.socialanxietysupport.com/forum/f35/always-daydreaming-59496/)

csi226 03-02-2009 04:12 PM

Always daydreaming!

Hello all,
I'm new here and wanted to get y'alls opinions on daydreaming. I'm a freshman in college right now,and I constantly find myself daydreaming, whether it be at home or in class. I've always been a big daydreamer, but isn't this a bit excessive? I also tend to daydream about things that most likely won't happen, or are not very realistic. ie: going to the same university as someone I like, etc. I know excessive daydreaming can be a form of escapism, but what should i do about this? I will admit, I did not have the best of childhoods, (I was/am very sheltered, and am just now getting out into the social world... still live with parents, so it's hard to get out) but is this something i should worry about? I mean sometimes, it takes such a long time just to do a 6 problem math worksheet just because i'm too busy daydreaming...I also have the hardest times focusing. I may be ADD, but never got tested, I don't like to rely on medication... anyways, what do y'all think?

imt 03-02-2009 04:39 PM

A major aspect of having SA is being consumed by though. That's in fact the core of all of our issues. Once some pre-conceived notion is conceived, I immediately focus all of my thoughts and energy into that one thought. This usually ends in panic, stress, and or depression.

I feel for you because I have trouble focusing as well. Try staying grounded by being in tuned to the environment ie: While your professor speak make eye-contact or try focusing on your room in some way.

Cicero 03-02-2009 04:45 PM

Hey csi,