Being fake friendly with ex friends - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-19-2020, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Being fake friendly with ex friends

I just wanna hear your guys opinions on if you think it is worth taking this person into my life again. And how I can avoid being too nice to them.

I have this ex friend, who also is my cousin. All our lives we have been friends. I have always been there for her. She has struggled a lot with issues. I always help her on the phone and stuff. But this year she started acting super distant after she got a boyfriend. She legit wouldn't talk to me anymore, and he was the center of her world. So much so that the day that I graduated - which is a day me and her have been looking forward to celebrating for the past 3 years - she didn't even send me a single text. My other friends who are also in a relationship did have "time" to be there for me, one of them even got me a cake. This is not to sound selfish, but it seriously disappointed me so deeply that she did not give a single damn about me on this day because it was so very special to me. It really made me realize what a ****ty friend she is. We didn't talk that summer at all, also I didn't include her at my party.

Now that she is not so head over heels with her boyfriend anymore, she wanna talk to me again. But when we do talk, all she talks about is how ****ty her other friends are. They all blocked her, because of reasons I am not sure about. But I think a lot of it has to do with her not prioritizing them and constantly canceling plans. So I kind of understand them if I'm being honest.