Maladaptive daydreaming (MD)- fantasy stories in your head - Page 2 - Social Anxiety Forum

post #21 of 336 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 09:35 AM
SAS Member

^ I studied anthropology in part because I have always been interested in ethnobotany and appropriate technology (e.g. living properly on whatever land you're in) and I fantasized like you did when I was little, that I lived in a village and gathered medicines, etc. I buried things and made little altars and I wasn't really able to accept contemporary life. Seemed so profoundly empty in comparison.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #22 of 336 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 10:37 AM
SAS Member

Any room in this boat for one more?

Fear is the price of our instrument ~ Hannibal Lecter
post #23 of 336 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 11:13 AM
SAS Member

I've been daydreaming since I was around 6 too, when The Moffats still existed. But still normal for the so-called imaginative kid /s. Started from when I was 15, I developed an attachment to people that don't exist. Sometimes I thought it was not normal but I've read a lot of people has characters inside their head I thought I might be overreacted.

But I'm not sure, after reading this part
"Many others also move their hands around and make facial expressions: laughing, crying, whispering, and gesturing with hands [because they are trying to impersonate the characters themselves]. Listening to music while daydreaming is common and hearing music may trigger a fantasy. A repetitive movement may be articulated to music while daydreaming. Watching a movie or reading a book, can also trigger a fantasy."
I got kinda scared, so it's not normal? Because it doesn't sound normal from the way it's written but I know i can totally relate to this.

But weirdly, I don't remember having any trauma or abuse... Is this dangerous or what?

post #24 of 336 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 12:57 PM
SAS Member

I fantasize being again a child and desiring to be with my childhood friends.