Im not very good at being grateful - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
ghostly

Im not very good at being grateful

I know its important but i feel like i am averse to feeling grateful. especially to other people. part of it i think, is that i dont like owing people

does anyone also feel the same, or used to feel the same? how did you change

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

believe in urself
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-29-2019, 12:29 PM
Malevolent Dictator

My Mood: Brooding
I've had the same problem.

Gratitude implies a dependent relationship between yourself and another, or yourself and life, which is why you resist/resent it. When you have little to feel thankful for, expressing gratitude can have the contrary effect of humiliating you when you already feel low.

Instead of gratitude, think in terms of appreciation. Appreciating what you do have, and the help that you have received, does not put you in a dependent relationship.

Appreciation is a feeling that can be expressed between equals, without the implication of debt. "I appreciate what you've done for me" is very different in connotation from "I'm grateful to you", but it achieves the same end (acknowledging their effort). You can appreciate, for example, the fact that someone is trying to help you, but you might resent expressing gratitude if they haven't actually helped you. Gratitude is more properly reserved for situations in which you have asked for help and someone has given it to you. (If you have difficulty expressing gratitude in these situations your problem is more serious.)