Finger skin biting? - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-28-2009, 08:24 PM Thread Starter

Question

Finger skin biting?

Hi all,
I'm curious if anyone out there has experienced similar, possibly anxiety-related behaviors.. I bite the skin around my fingernails, including my cuticles (also my actual nails, but not to the same extent) compulsively. I've been doing it since I was 8 yrs old (I'm now almost 21..) and I've gotten used to the fact that my fingers always look absolutely disgusting. I think in my case it's similar to Trichotillomania in that it's a sort-of counter-productive self-grooming thing.. when I notice a piece of loose skin, I literally feel like I HAVE TO bite it off (in order to 'smooth the surface' but of course I know it'll result in my fingers appearing even more atrocious).. and if something interrupts me, like my friends or family smack my hand away, I feel extremely agitated and tense inside and need to take a couple deep breathes to calm down.. it's really strange. I bite them to the extent where they always sting/burn, bleed frequently, and I've gotten a couple staph infections that caused my entire finger to swell up like a balloon. I do it a lot when I'm bored and 'zoning out', somewhat unconsciously.. but I tend to do it much more when I'm anxious about something. Also, I started pulling out my eyebrows a couple years ago.. this habit certainly isn't as bad.. I still have my eyebrows and you have to look pretty closely to notice the patchiness, as luckily I have very light-colored eyebrows. I do it a lot when I'm anxious in social settings without even realizing it!! Anyone else have these or related issues?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 04-28-2009, 10:15 PM
SAS Member

My Mood: Bitchy
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumbleine88 View Post
when I notice a piece of loose skin, I literally feel like I HAVE TO bite it