Bullying and the effects of... - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-12-2021, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member

My Mood: Mellow

Bullying and the effects of...

Hi all, hope you are all well, and staying safe in these COVID times... I wanted to open a general discussion on bullying... I wonder how many of us have been bullied at some point in our lives, the effects of it, and if we are still suffering with it. I also wonder if, for some of us, it has indeed been the cause of our Social Anxiety, and how many of us are currently getting Professional help and support with it. It's a meaty discussion thread, hopefully not a boring one, and I hope many of us will contribute and plenty of positive outcomes achieved. Here's hoping, and I look forward to your input and your replies...

These are just my thoughts/opinions, I am not a Doctor/Health Professional etc. so please draw your own conclusions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-12-2021, 03:45 PM
SAS Member

Honestly, I was never bullied at any point in my life. That's not to say that bullying didn't happen in the schools I went to, because it happens in all schools, I was just never the target of it. I was largely ignored, actually. Slipped under a lot of peoples' radars.
Of course, then when I graduated from high school I went into the military, where I was bullied every day for three months during boot camp, but that's sort of the whole point of boot camp lol
The funny thing is, I'm not even sure bullying really exists in adulthood, by which I mean nobody calls it that. If you're a teenager and you're being picked on by a classmate, it's called bullying. But if you're an adult and you're being picked on by a coworker, that coworker is considered to be just being a jerk.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-12-2021, 03:55 PM Thread Starter
SAS Member