Ritalin (Methylphenidate) A Godsent For Social Anxiety - My Experience - Social Anxiety Forum

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-20-2016, 06:52 AM Thread Starter
SAS Member

Ritalin (Methylphenidate) A Godsent For Social Anxiety - My Experience

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I've suffered extreme social anxiety and ADHD since I can remember. I am VERY self conscious about myself and I constantly think what others may be thinking about me when out in public. I've always found myself obsessively rehearsing what to do, what to say and how to act when approaching someone or before involving myself in some social activity or social gathering. I'm a classic case for both SA and ADHD. My ADHD and SA went undiagnosed for my entire life until I started uni and knew it was time to seek help. After being referred to and consulting with a Psychiatrist, I was prescribed Ritalin for my ADHD. My doctor didn't want to put me on more than one type of medication as he was adamant Ritalin would help with my SA as well.

After being on Ritalin for 10 months now I have indeed hit two birds with one stone. Aside from my improved attention span (which I won't discuss here) the Ritalin has proved to be an extremely useful tool especially for approach anxiety. It is however just a tool and not a cure of course. The following is a list of how Ritalin is helping my social anxiety:

Effects on social anxiety:

- Increased talkativeness
- Much more engagement in conversations
- An intense eagerness to engage in conversations with strangers
- Approach anxiety is abolished
- Anxiety and shyness is greatly reduced